2018 Free Dining Logistical Question

TheSouthernBelle

DIS Veteran
This question may have already been addressed so my apologies. We've never tried to secure free dining so I have a logistical question.

We've booked our trip for Nov (anticipating free dining will be Nov. 14-19, 2018). So we plan to arrive Nov. 15, staying 5 nights, includes our stay at AKL and 4 days of park tix. When free dining has gone live and is announced, will I simply login to my account and add dining to my package?? Will free dining be an option? Has anyone done it this way before. I really would prefer to avoid having to call WDW, knowing that the call time may delay me securing free dining. I've never done this before so I am just not sure how it all works. I am envisioning free dining going live in April and me not being able to add it to our package and having to rebook a new trip :sad:(which I would like to avoid at all costs).

TIA!!

I am considering doing the same thing but would be staying November 17-24. I would like to confirm you can do this or something similar before I book it. I thought a couple years ago I heard they had made a change where if you wanted to change your discount there had to be rooms still available because it basically made a new reservation and then afterword cancelled the original. This was even the case if you called in to make the change specifically to prevent doing this. However, I've never tried to do it myself so I am not sure. I would love to just book now and not have to worry about trying to get a room in the wee hours of the morning.
Surely plenty of people know how this process works and will be able to enlighten us!