• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

A Little Confused

coachjoe92

Disney Pilot
OK---Here's the deal. I am new to DVC, but have been a frequent WDW visitor. Our usual MO is to drive in arriving late and staying for a reasonable rate off-site. We usually use Priceline or Travelocity to find a good rate for one night. Then we get up early and check-in our resort (realizing our rooms most likely will not be ready until later), but stowing our luggage and hitting the parks until afternoon.

My Question---Would I be smarter using an AP discount or DVC cash ressie on that first night, rather than stay off-site? We are only there a few hours to grab a little sleep, so it is not that big of a deal, but I was wondering what others think or what your strategy might be. :idea:

Really, it is whatever you are comfortable with. While I don't think I'd spend the $$$ to stay at a mod or deluxe for one night...some people pay for a DVC accomodation.

When we drive, we also usually arrive a day early, this allows extra time for car problems and/or road conditions. We usually spend the first night either off-site or at POP. Now that last minute AP discounts are difficult, if not impossible, to get we'll probably stay off-site.

coachjoe92 said:
OK---Here's the deal. I am new to DVC, but have been a frequent WDW visitor. Our usual MO is to drive in arriving late and staying for a reasonable rate off-site. We usually use Priceline or Travelocity to find a good rate for one night. Then we get up early and check-in our resort (realizing our rooms most likely will not be ready until later), but stowing our luggage and hitting the parks until afternoon.