Feeling guilt about the prospect of going

ookitarepanda

Earning My Ears
Been struggling with my emotions the last couple days as the parks reopen, felt that you guys would understand best. Wondering if you have any input.

Joined DVC in February after a tour at WDW. Booked a Welcome Home stay for me (33) and my wife (30) at RIV for 10/16-10/20, and managed to get 2 nights at BLT for 10/14-10/16 so we can try out staying there before a possible add-on.

There are several reasons we wanted to make this trip:
-2nd wedding anniversary, and we wanted to try out California Grill
-Use up the 2019 banked points that we have (August UY)
-I'm a teacher and schools in MN have a fall recess every year on this weekend in October and so it's a good time for me to take off work
-Food & Wine (and to a lesser extent, MNSSHP which is canceled)
-The other time we'd be able to go is my spring break in early March, but that's when my wife's work is busiest and needs her on board

Right now there's a lot of discussion about what school is going to look like this year. I feel like if we are in session, then it would be irresponsible of me to take a luxury trip to FL and come back to a full classroom.

But even if we are doing distance learning and I'm not with huge groups of kids - my HS classes are usually 34-38 students - I still feel this guilt like I would be shamed or judged by family, friends, coworkers for going. Maybe I'm just projecting or being paranoid, but I worry about being looked down on for wanting to go.

Not sure what I want to hear. For the time being, I'm just waiting for more information and developments: what the plan is for school, if I'd be able to reserve certain dinners, if WDW is going to close up again like HK, what FL cases will look like in 3 months...

I am planning my August trip and definitely have a few who think I am crazy..

But, right now, I do believe things can be done as safely as possible, and my DD and her BF are comfortable as well..