Flu shot...do you get one?

HeatherC

Alas...these people I live with ...
I haven’t gotten one in several years and have so far been pretty lucky. I used to take all three of my kids for one after one Christmas was ruined by the flu. But they are now all older and decide for themselves if they want to get it.

I am also a substitute teacher at an elementary school and all the little darlings seem to be sneezing and coughing and just run down this week.

I also just heard that the flu is now widespread here in Massachusetts so I’m hoping my luck holds out!. All I have been doing is washing my hands constantly and using hand sanitizer. I just don’t want us sick for Christmas!

Does your family get the shot or mist ?

Used to work with the public so DH and I always got the flu shot. Then my mom went to a retirement home and they required all visitors to have the shot, or you couldn’t get in to visit. Now that I’m older, I live in an over 55 community and I get the shot, for me and for others. Some years the match of components in the shot to what’s actually going around is better than other years. I still do it. Every. Single. Year. It takes me maybe 20 minutes total to get the shot free at the pharmacy. I couldn’t stand the idea that my failure to get the shot carried the flu to a vulnerable young child or older person. Getting off the speaker’s box now.

I have to get it for work, but I would get it anyway. My whole family got theirs in September, per recommendations this year. It's not too late to get it. It may not completely prevent you from getting the flu, but it can help lessen the severity of symptoms.

CDC info from the 2017-18 Flu season:
https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/season/flu-season-2017-2018.htm

Last edited:
After several years of no shots, my daughter 17, myself, my husband, and one of our college sons got our shots this year. That same son had an issue in February that compromised his lungs and he had flu-like symptoms with it that were scary.