Holiday Danube River Cruise ABD vis Tauck Bridges. 7K price difference?

lolakat

DIS Veteran
Hello,

I am a frequent Disney traveler and have taken multiple mass market ocean cruises. This is my first time considering a guided tour like ABD and first time booking a river cruise. I will be traveling with my husband and 12 year old child. I would like to book a big trip for over Christmas and I think the Danube River cruises look amazing. ABD and Tauck have very similar itineraries. Pretty much everything is included on both. Both have a cabin that will accommodate the 3 of us. Tauck has a larger cabin but ABD has a true balcony. From what I read both ABD and Tauck bridges have an excellent reputation for luxury family tours.

The ABD trip is more expensive by over 7k!! Can any of you experienced tour takers tell me if there is something better about ABD over Tauck Bridges to justify the price difference? This is a once in a lifetime trip so I would be willing to pay more for something that is truly better but the on-line descriptions sound very similar. Although I LOVE Disney and I'm sure they have a great product I am having a very hard time justifying this price difference in my own mind.... much less to my husband.

I haven't been on a TB river cruise, but I've been on Tauck Bridges tours (and regular Tauck tours) as well as the holiday Danube (and Rhine) ABD river cruises. If the itineraries are the same, I'd guess that maybe the number of guides and/or guides themselves might be the factor. For instance, Tauck does not allow their guides to eat with guests whereas last year one night Veronika sat and had dinner with us, telling us her story. Little things like that...which made my DD insist on another ABD river cruise for her graduation over being offered a trip anywhere with a tour company or not. So...I'd say for the parents probably not worth an extra $7k...but if you asked my DD (who of course doesn't realize what $7k is, really) absolutely!