I had a stroke!

LovableGluttons

See Ya REAL Soon!
Hi! I'm Nicole, a now 45 years old wife, Mom, registered nurse, who lost use of her left side on Dec 15, 2011 after being hospitalized earlier in the month for encephalitis of unknown cause. Everything I was tested for to determine the culprit came out negative.My blood pressure is low normal, my blood sugars are normal, my heart and neck vessels are normal, and my cholesterol is a whopping 106. I am putting this out here to warn everyone that it can happen even without normal risk.As a nurse, I can appreciate that I did not get tPa to clear the clot off my brain stem since I did not know the exact time of the stroke that felled me while I was asleep. I, of course, spent the holidays in the hospital, and am in vigorous Physical and Occupational Therapy to try to restore more strength and function to my life. I am not searching for sympathy, but for ideas! I can walk, talk, protect my own airway, no longer use a wheelchair, but I am defiitely different than I was for the first 44 years of my life. My husband and I loved weekends at WDW, the kids feel they have grow3n out of it. My sister in law is two years younger, but also had a stroke in October, so we have each other to rally through this.

I know this is terrifying to hear, but I wanted to be upfront and honest. At the hospital I was treated at, they had an 8 year old with a stroke in Septmber, as well as a 16 year old the year before.

Anyone here with a similar problem?

Also, anyone have any tips on communities or websites devoted to younger people with strokes? Most of the info I unearth, i not targeted to middle age
9ouch), but older populations.

Thanks!!

Hi Nicole,
I am sorry to hear about your stroke and wish you all the best in your recovery.:hug: