In queue for BLT but now thinking OKW?

Afabena

Mouseketeer
Hi all, this is my first post but I have lurked for a long, long time. I am currently in a queue waiting for a 2 bedroom BLT Lake View rental for 6 nights to come through, but I have started to second guess the decision (mainly on cost). Now I am wondering if we should consider something like OKW which would save us almost $1,400. My main concern is taking buses everywhere from OKW. We will be flying and most likely not renting a car. For those of you who have stayed at OKW, were the buses reliable, and how was the time getting to and from the parks? Also, how was the resort in general?

I originally had my heart set on BLT but now I’m not sure I can justify the cost (on top of all of the other costs of Disney). This is my first time back to Disney in about 20 years since I was a kid, and now I am taking my 2 small kids who will be 6, my husband who has never been to Disney and my parents who also have not been back in 20 years.

Interested in others opinions if you have stayed at BLT or OKW. We are planning to visit all 4 parks, but will definitely go to Magic Kingdom and Epcot more than once. Thanks!

Most OKW buildings do not have elevators, so you could wind up with a walk up the stairs to a 3rd floor unit. (Might be a problem for parents or sleepy kids)

OKW is very much a home away from home in a lovely tropical setting...it’s great of you stock up the kitchen with some food/snacks, but it’s a big pain if you are making regular trips to the outdoor quick service window.

A lot of kids will think the busses are fun. They do take more time (have to leave the room earlier). I drive down to WDW, and still prefer to let Disney drive me around, so I take the busses.