Is it possible to get a studio- 7mo out - 1st wk Dec.?

Megz

Earning My Ears
My home is GFV & I was wondering if at the 7 month out point is it possible to book another resort (PREF. Copper Creek or Animal Kingdom) - Standard Studio for Thanksgiving week or the 1st week in December? Do they automatically appear in whats available or do you have to call? Sorry I'm new to switching out a reservation. TIA

You almost certainly will have to waitlist for CCV and perhaps for AKV too. Kidani is the most likely to come thru because it has the most studios of the 3 you are looking at. It’s the most popular time for DVC visits though so you do want to book your home resort right at 11 months. At 7 months you can check online and see if the othe 2 are available to switch. You would go thru the modify link on your reservation. If neither CCV nor AKV are available then you can set up the waitlist and ask for it to replace your reservation at your home resort. This all can be done online although you can also call to do it.

Possible? Yes. Difficult? Usually. Of the two, Copper Creek is more likely to be the hardest to get during the first week of Dec as it a) is new; b) is at arguably the hardest place to book during the holidays; c) has increasing crowds due to purposeful Disney planning; and d) has studios which are the cheapest point-wise. That being said, it's not impossible. Be prepared for a waitlist for Copper Creek. AKV has also seen an uptick in reservations but is generally considered an easier "get" due to its size. You my already know this, but always book your home resort first to ensure you have a place to stay. Then, at 7 months, right at the time when online (or member services opens), be ready to book. Online booking does show what's available at the time when you're trying to reserve, but some people prefer dealing with a live person. Online booking opens earlier and if the rooms are available, you can most definitely use that.

Edit: HA! KAT beat me to it!