Is there some secret advantage to having a travel agent?

MommyBryn

DIS Veteran
I feel bad asking this because I don't want to offend any travel agents (heck, I'd LOVE your job!! and I know how time consuming it can be to plan a Disney trip for someone else!), but I'm genuinely curious. I've been planning our family Disney vacations since after I graduated high school, so while I've only planned five (almost six) trips, each one has been for anywhere from 12-24 people (we always go as a group), cross-country flights, on site (and this next time off-site), tickets for everyone, DDP (except for last time I budgeted meals for everyone so they knew what they needed to save), and ADR's, have done packages an individual bookings, modifying reservations as discounts were released, etc. Basically the whole deal for everyone involved, and I guess my point is that I feel pretty confident in covering all the details and getting us the best deal on our vacation. HOW I got this job I don't know, but nonetheless I did, and I'll admit I really enjoy it. I don't know if I'd want to have someone else plan my trip! LOL However, if there is some perk I'm missing, I'll gladly rethink things!

That said, is there something particularly beneficial that a travel agent can offer for people who understand the in's and out's of vacation planning? Do they have special access to things that average-but-much-experienced Joe's don't? Or is it mostly for people who don't have a lot of experience, or probably more likely, the time to do it themselves? Does it cost more to hire a travel agent?

My curiosity was sparked after some people we know took another (one of many) WDW vacation recently via a travel agent, but they've always planned them on their own before, and other than the cute basket of goodies that was left in their room, I wasn't sure what other benefits there were to doing it that way vs by themselves.

Last edited: