Just playing here...

Ya know, when I was looking at the problem, I wasn't looking at it with my normal programmer mentality, nor was I even thinking 'optimization'. Duh, obviously your method is MUCH MUCH easier. I WAS trying too hard.

Hey, I'm new to this flash stuff, give me a week or two and I'll code circles around you. :) not!

Anyway, what you did worked perfectly, and I even added my own optimization.

gotoandplay(random(x-1)+1)

where x is the number of images. It could hit zero and one and have to loop back on itself in your way, this way, it will only have to loop on itself in the zero case. It ran noticably faster when I put it in this way (or it just mighta been Angelfire being slow/fast...)

I just started the job with BNY a month ago. I do believe we do all kinds of clearing, including ACH. I also know we do a bunch of work with brokers and the old method clearing where someone just calls in. I don't know a heck of a lot about 'everything' we do - I am a Programmer/Analyst in their Datawarehousing department. I do a LOT of work with SQL, and might have to dip into my VB experience every once in a while. I'm having fun. :) And you?

Thanks for teaching me more about fishing. Who woulda thought because of our respective obsessions with WDW you'd be teaching me flash via a chat board. lol

Check mine out here

I didn't really notice any problems with the recalculation on cases of "0" or "1" so I didn't worry about it. You are right though, it is more efficient your way.

We have been using Flash 4 scripting commands (old) where as in Flash 5, the new randomizer command is not only more random but more functional. BTW you should publish in Flash 4 whenever you can for compatibility reasons, which is why we did it this way. My current "Tunes 4 Tuesday" post for example, will only allow me to publish as Flash 5 due to the getBytesloaded command in the load meter (I think that's the command that prevents it from reverting???? I can't remember now).