Need help from Mac Users: Best Digital Camera?

kahluacream

Mouseketeer
Hi there,

I recently got a Mac PowerBook, but need to upgrade my digital camera to go along with it. Can anyone recommend a "Mac-friendly" digital camera with good resolution and a lot of zoom? I'm looking for something pretty compact and easy to use that will plug right into the Mac when I want to download my pictures. In terms of budget, I definitely would like to stay under about $400.

Thanks so much for your help! I'm pretty clueless when it comes to technology, but I take lots of pictures. :)

The great thing about a mac is the built in support for many different camers. I have had a lot of difficulty with Sonys cameras on the mac and I have loved the various Canon cybershots and the Digital Rebel SLR. My Wife has a Canon S110m that has been easy to use and provided us with many memories. Kodak makes a nice camera but I found that for more than a total novice it can be frustrating but I grew up with camers so I find good controls that are simple to use my favorite feature. I also want to just turn on the camers and take a picture without haveing to do anything else and that can be a problem with some camers. Sometimes just a better memory card will fix a slow performing camers. :smooth:

i've had two kodak cameras and iPhoto worked well with both of them. I have a kodak DX6490 (or is it 9460??) It has digital zoom and 4 mega pixels and takes really great photos!!

The new iLife does some really cool things in iPhoto!

Good luck with your new machine!
tara

I would think that as long as you have a reader for the memory tape (CF, xD, SD, or Memory Stick) any camera out there should be no problem for a Mac. Especially is you use an advanced program like Photoshop, or just shoot in the cameras normal modes, which usually save a JPEG or TIFF and avoid the RAW format.

GET A DISNEY VACATION QUOTE