Pigeon Forge to FW - what's the best route?

mickeyfan0805

DIS Veteran
We will be driving from Pigeon Forge to the Fort in July and I'm starting to map out my routes and gas stops.

There are two options I am considering. One takes I-40 west to I-75 and comes through Atlanta, the other comes east on I-40 to I-26 and down. The I-26 route has fewer miles (16) and avoids Atlanta, but it goes more directly through the mountains (which is worth considering with a 35' trailer). The I-75 route is a bit longer and includes Atlanta, but it avoids the mountains a bit more and I'm travelling on a Saturday, so it should mitigate a bit of the traffic.

Anyone familiar with this routes have a recommendation?

Last edited:
I have plenty of experience traveling from Pigeon Forge down through Chattanooga on I-75 and depending on when you go through Chattanooga it can be a bear on traffic as well. If that route also takes you through Atlanta then you may very well have 2 traffic ordeals (granted, Chattanooga not nearly as bad as Atlanta but I swore a long time ago never to travel through Atlanta if at all possible again).

Where in Pigeon Forge are you staying? The reason I ask is I used to live in Maryville (about 30 minutes from there) and the quickest, less traffic route from Pigeon Forge to I-75 is to take Wear's Valley Road over to Hwy 321 and take it West through Maryville and into Lenoir City where you will get on I-75. This is by far easier than going back over to Knoxville and down from there. There is a sharp turn on Wear's Valley Road, but the last time I was there this past July, they have expanded the curve and there is now much more room than there used to be.

The mountains on I-40 aren't that bad, and actually will give some scenery as you go through them.