RCI Exchange

Andasibe

Earning My Ears
We are looking at purchasing a 150 point contract through resale. But, we do not vacation at Disney every year. Does RCI exchange work well? Not at all? Etc? What has been your experience with the exchange? Thanks, everyone, in advance for your thoughts.

What are you hoping to accomplish through RCI? What general locations, unit size, dates?

I've been trading through RCI for about 17 years using other timeshare. We've done quite well -- but I live w/in certain expectations. Here are a few of our highlights, each booked through RCI:
  • Two weeks, back to back, in South Africa. Both units were 2BR chalet homes in great locations for sight-seeing.
  • 3BR Grand Villa at Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort for F&W. (FYI: You can't book this on DVC points. This was a very unique trade.)
  • 3BR Worldmark Arrow Point, ID, over Memorial Day holiday.
  • 1BR Wyndham Flagstaff over New Years holiday.
  • 2BR Grand Pacific Palisades over Memorial Day holiday. (Multiple times.)
  • 2BR at Boambee Bay Resort, Coffs Harbour (AU) with less than 2 weeks notice.
  • 1BR at Disney's Boardwalk Villas. (Multiple times. But again, this exchange is not possible if booking with DVC points.)
  • 1BR at Smuggler's Notch, VT, for Leaf Peeping! (1st week Oct of that particular year -- great color!)
Rules of thumb for booking via RCI:
  • Expect mostly 1BR units.
  • Expect expensive "All Inclusive" fees if booking anything in Mexico or the Caribbean. (Booking some of these properties via exchange may be more expensive than booking direct with the same property. Be sure to compare!)
  • Do not expect peak seasons or holidays. Expect lots and lots of Spring/Fall weeks.
  • Do not expect many mid-city options. Generally speaking, timeshares are located outside city center in the rural, relaxing areas used by locals to escape city life. Thus, timeshares are not particularly great locations for hitting all the city-sites when traveling abroad.