Retirement: how did it change your running?

OldSlowGoofyGuy

DIS Veteran
I work at a giant company that has been in the news recently. As part of the recent news, I've been offered a voluntary separation package. It's a little weird in that you apply, but that doesn't mean you're accepted, and you don't really know what the package is until you're accepted. I am going to apply. DW and I have been talking about it, and I was probably only going to work through the end of the year anyway, so the offer, whatever it is, is just icing on the cake.

My question to those of you who have retired: how did it affect your running? Did you run more or less? Did you race more or less? Did you change your running schedule?

Really, my question is not limited to running. Maybe the questions is: how did retirement change your life?

I feel like I'm at mile 26 of a marathon: I really wasn't sure I was going to make it to the finish line until now.

I've got no real-life experience to share here, but I'm really jealous of your impending retirement. I'm not at mile 26 yet of my work marathon, but maybe around mile 20 or so, so it's close enough to start feeling real now. My hope is that it will give me more time to enjoy running and not always feel like I'm trying to fit it into an already full life.

DH is at a similar crossroads with his job (although no separation package!). His worry is what to do if he isn’t in his current position. Not about the money issue, just what to do with his time and energy. There’s only so much time you can workout and check things off the to-do list.

Congratulations! Some people I know have had a hard time with retirement, even taking part time jobs at the local grocery store. Running helped me get through the change in my life.