Stressing Over Space Mountain

SoKatriotic

Earning My Ears
Hola friends!

I need someone (or a few someones) to ease my fear of Space Mountain. I am a seasoned Disney World veteran and a college program alumni but this is one attraction I have never been brave enough to try. I love Big Thunder Mountain as well as the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train (minus the big drop). My goal is to finally try Space Mountain on my trip next month but I'm stressing myself out over it. I reallyyy don't like big drops which makes Big Thunder the perfect roller coaster for me. Am I working myself up over nothing?

Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom!

There aren't really any big drops on Space Mountain. More than anything, it's kind of jarring. It's probably the least comfortable coaster at Disney but it's not reallly "wild," I think it's more the darkness and not knowing what might happen next that keeps it so thrilling. Plus, it's just kinda cool to be flying through space!

Remember that it's not that long of a ride. If you like those other two, you'll get through Space Mountain, and then you'll be able to say you did it! And if you like it, you can add it to your list of favorites.

I hate big drops. Splash is doable for me, but that is the limit. I avoid Expedition Everest and California Screamin and Tower of Terror because of the drops. Space Mountain I don't find the be that bad, definitely not as bad as the three I avoid.... If that helps give any frame of reference at all! I associate Space Mountain with speed and darkness and kind of jerkiness more than I do drops.

Space Mountains top speed is 28mph and the longest “drop” is 26 feet. BTMRR has a top speed of 36mph. EE has an 80 foot drop and a top speed of 50mph. Splash has a 50 foot drop that gets up to about 40 mph.

I’d say you are getting worked up over nothing. (I got these numbers off the Wikipedia pages)