Supermarkets in the Area

iankh

It's never done till it's overdone
After many trips, we are, this upcoming trip going to go to the supermarket.

The only supermarket I have ever been to in the area is Goodings, in the Crossroads shopping center.

Now when it comes to supermarkets, I'm very picky. Here in the Chicago ares, I shop at Jewel. I'm a Jewel person rather than a Dominicks person (you Chicagoland people know what I'm talking about).

I know there are 3 supermarkets in the area. Winn-Dixie seems to be the closest to DTD. I have also heard of a supermarket called Publix and Albersons (which I think is Jewel).

I don't shop at Wal-mart for many reasons. So what supermarket do you folks recommend?

Personally I prefer Publix as I'm a produce manager-been in the grocery business for 25yrs. If I ever move south that's who I'd work for.
In all the grocery trade magazines they are one of the names always at the top of the list.
We've been using them since we became members at the BW since 98.

Scott

I like Winn Dixie best. It's clean, the produce is nice and i can always find what I need quickly.

I prefer Publix, too, but, on our last trip, we found the Winn-Dixie on Apopka-Vineland Rd, in a "new" strip center next to ABC Liquors. It's closer than Publix, and, since we have a W-D discount card, wd did all our grocery shopping there.

FWIW....

Well, we ususally use Winn-Dixie. Close, clean, ABC store, etc. But last time we were down the store was torn apart so we decided we were going to venture over to Publix next time.

According to Google maps there is an ABC store near Publix too. I guess we'll see.

I know what you mean about grocery stores though. I'm a Wegman's girl so...

love Publix.

if you go to Winnie-Dixie - check each and every expiry date. these people are the worst about not throwing away food that they know has expired.