Teachers...do you want to hear from parents?

LilTinkFan

Mouseketeer
question for you teachers. Do you like your students' parents to email you at the beginning of classes? Is it helpful to hear my opinion of my child?

Ex: my ds wears his heart on his sleeve. His older sister (bff, and summer babysitter) just went to college. He is having trouble sleeping, etc. As mom, I want to email but dh says why bother.

As a preschool teacher, I find those types of insights to be very helpful. Sometimes we'll notice a behavior switch mid-year and later find out that something significant has changed in the child's life. It always helps us to know where things are coming from. It's also helpful for us to know what kinds of conversations may come up.

I'm a school librarian for older elementary students, and my colleagues and I always find it helpful to get a heads up about a student, especially if he or she is going through a difficult time. Your inclination to share some thoughts with your child's teacher can be very helpful.

What tends to frustrate teachers, on the other hand, is when parents request constant, daily updates (beyond the normal lines of communication teachers have in place) on their child or when they expect super-special treatment. I'm not at all saying you are doing this. Just the opposite, really...what you are thinking of doesn't even come close to what some parents do!

My daughter is 15, and my son is starting college this fall. They grew very close this past year. I know she will miss him terribly, as DH and I will.

When my mother was dying (2nd mom to my kids), I emailed my twins guidance counselor (7th grade) and let them know. On day ds14 burst into tears in class, so it was good they had a heads up. My older kids were in HS and college, I didn't email their teachers.