The Yoopers go to FL-Pretrip

yoopermom

Come join Bravo by the fire...
Cast:
Me, Terri the Yoopermom, turned 35 during the trip, trip planning fanatic
Yooperdad, 39, would rather be in a national park than a theme park
Yooperson, 7, thrill seeker and animal lover extraordinaire
(and joining us later…)
DM, who loves WDW, but hates to fly (WDW wins out, I promise)
DSF (whose age enabled us to get a great rate at HIFS)

Pre-trip report/Planning

I swore, after being at WDW for the millennium party in Dec. ‘99/Jan. ’00, that we’d “never” do Disney at Xmas again. Silly me! I had started planning last spring, and, when I found out that the schools had off for two weeks over Xmas (I’m a teacher, DS is a student), the decision was made. In July I snagged a Delta flight from Milwaukee-Orlando for $134/each (all fees included) for Dec. 26-Jan. 5. The times were horrible (getting in at midnight, leaving at six a.m.), but this was pre-Sept. 11, so I didn’t know yet about the possibility of having to get there two hours ahead of time. I got an EA reservation for the same time period for $188 for ten days, using the DC code and coupon. All I wanted for my birthday was to spend it at the Hard Rock Hotel, but they had a four night minimum stay over the holidays, which was definitely not in our budget. Through hotelkingdom.com, I picked up two nights at $143 (all fees incl.) each, which were nonrefundable, due to the holiday season. Knowing what I know now, I would never again make a nonrefundable reservation for the first night, but we’re not very good early morning people, and I thought it’d be better to check in late, and then sleep in. For the rest of our trip I booked HIFS at the rate of $134/night. I called about our old park hoppers, and found that they had two regular days, and three plusses on each, which saved us a tremendous amount of money. (I wonder how many people toss them not knowing that the days never expire?) AAA offered a special in late summer on passes to Univ