try to understand points

the_grinch

Mouseketeer
Hi all i am looking onto buying dvc .As you can guess I am new to this timesharing stuff I am trying to learn what I can from the net so not sure if I am right in this .if I get a contract with 160 and a use year around June .even if the contract has 0 points for 2016 and 0 points for 2017 but has full 160 points for 2018 I could then book a vacation for November 2018 that cost up to 320 (I would borrow 160 points from 2019)

Last edited:
Hi all i am looking onto buying dvc .As you can guess I am new to this timesharing stuff I am trying to learn what I can from the net so not sure if I am right in this .if I get a contract with 160 and a use year around June .even if the contract has 0 points for 2016 and 0 points for 2017 but has full 160 points for 2018 I could then book a vacation for November 2018 that cost up to 320 (I would borrow 160 points from 2019)
Correct

Do yourself a favor and take the time to read the posts here in the "purchase" section.

You can make a reservation as long as you have points available during the reservation dates, not when you place the reservation.

:earsboy: Bill

There's also a good thread going about the value of stripped vs. loaded contracts you might want to read before making a purchase.

I would try to buy a contract loaded with points. It is easy to get into the borrowing ahead cycle and hard to get out of it...lol.