Universal at Christmas 2020- Amazing or Awful??

emarie

Earning My Ears
Universal newbie here- we are a family of 5 with kids ages 14, 11, and 7. We had an epic trip planned for June of this year to Disney which clearly didn't happen :( . I have been looking at going to Universal for a few years as we are all Harry Potter and ride fans, but it was too costly to add on to our Disney trip. Fast forward to now when I'm trying to cautiously plan another trip and Disney is crazy expensive for December, but there are decent deals for Universal. We would stay at RPR or HRH to get express passes and would likely go sometime between 12/17-12/24 with 4 day park to park passes.

Here's my question: for those who have been over the holidays or any really busy time- are the lines still terrible with the express pass? I know no one has a crystal ball for what this year will be like! I would never think about going over Christmas any other year, but the price is right for this year and I'd love to plan a fun surprise for the kids-all refundable if COVID takes a turn for the worse of course...😬

We've been to Universal twice at Thanksgiving (Sat-Wed). We had EPs both times and are very glad we did. While the lines were short most of the time, there were a couple days (where the EP lines got over 45 minutes in the afternoon for the popular rides. We just left the park for a late lunch and a nap at the hotel. Having the hotel so close was fantastic.

With Covid, it is hard to say what things will look like crowd-wise. But with 4 days of EPs, if you go into the parks in the mornings, you should be able to ride everything multiple times.

https://www.undercovertourist.com/orlando/crowd-calendar/december-2020/