*COMPLETE* Never Underestimate the Power of the Dark Side - a runDisney Spring Break TR

*DisneyDreamer

DIS Veteran
Hi all!

My name is Claire and this is my first time posting a trip report for one of my Disney trips! I am a 30-year old lover of all things Disney, and have visited Disney World almost annually/every other year since I was 3 years old. The love for Disney has only grown with age, and I look forward to continuing to experience the magic, both the familiar and the new.

Trip Background:
When:
April 18-23, 2017
Where: Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa
The cast: Me, my older sister Sarah, her fiance, my younger sister, and our Mom and Dad (younger sister and Mom and Dad were staying in a Studio room at the Boardwalk, and arrived a couple days after me)
Why: The reason for this trip was primarily to take a vacation over Spring Break (I work in a school so my trips to Disney typically need to occur during school vacations). It has become an annual tradition to visit over Spring Break for several years now, since it's not quite as busy as Christmas season, the weather is usually nice, and the time of year means visiting during the Epcot International Flower and Garden Festival. This trip was planned back in spring/summer 2016, as soon as our window for booking Disney Vacation Club rooms opened. It was originally going to be a regular vacation visit, but around this same time we discovered that the RunDisney Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend would be occurring at the end of our trip. My sisters signed up for the races right away in August 2016 when registration opened (my older sister and her fiance for the 10K and my younger sister for the Dark Side Challenge) but I held off a bit longer due to some other factors, including being registered for the Wine and Dine Two-Course Challenge in November 2016. On January 1, 2017, though, I finally bit the bullet and registered for the Challenge, not wanting to miss out on another opportunity to run Disney!