What time of year has the best deals?

bdiddy

DIS Veteran
DH and I have been on two RC cruises. We actually got married on our first in Charlotte Amalie in 1999 and our second was two years later in 2001. We loved cruising so much and always meant to do more but life and kids and other vacations and Disney got in the way! Lol....We actually had a RC cruise booked for our 10th in 2009 but a last minute medical issue with our daughter caused us to cancel a month out.

Anyway....we are finally going to cruise again and are planning on late June or early July 2018. I wish we could go at a better/cheaper time but I'm a teacher and because of our schedules we just can't. Plus we like to stretch our trips out over 2 wks or more if we can and do some other stuff too.

So...it's obviously been awhile since we've cruised and I know so much has changed. I've been checking the couple of cruises we are interested in over the last few months but the price seems to not change much. If I am remembering right, do they still offer a great deal at the beginning of December or sometime around then? Just wondering when would be the best time to book in terms of deals RC offers?

Also for you long time cruisers. I'd love to know what has changed the most in the last 15-20 yrs since you've cruised. I know obviously the ships! The ships we went on were the Monarch and the Grandeur which I know are the "small" ones now right? And dining I think is another thing that has changed right? When we went you just picked early or late dining. Anything else that is very different from when you started cruising?

Thanks!