What to expect with Express Pass?

ChrisM

Mouseketeer
I will be making my first trip to Universal in mid-March (so Spring Break season) with my grade school aged kids. We will be staying on-site (PB) so will have the unlimited Express Pass benefit.

What I'm hoping to find out is what to expect in terms of Express Pass lines? I realize there will still be waits and the parks will likely be pretty busy, but are we talking 10-20 minute waits for the headliners? Or could we still be running into 40+ minute waits even with Express Pass?

My kids are not adventurous (to say the least!), so since I'm a complete newbie my plan was to ride most things solo before them and make the decision on whether I think they could handle it. If I can buzz through pretty quickly, this should work fine - but if I'm backed up in a 40 minute line, I may need to rethink the idea.

We should have three full park days (with park-to-park tickets) if that makes any difference at all.

We visited Thanksgiving week last year and it was packed. We stayed at Royal Pacific and made good uses of the express pass. Our longest wait was 25 minutes on The Wrath of Kong. Forbidden Journey was 20 minutes and Gringots around 20 minutes as well. Everything else was 5-15 minutes. I don't do lines very well so express pass is a life savers.

FWIW- I've had good luck tackling the "scariest"/ most intense rides first and then they usually get a surge of adrenaline and realize that they can indeed handle rides. Always sets us up well when I take a new/ nervous rider to a park (success with my kids plus nieces and nephews :)). You don't spend all day psyched yourself up and getting nervous!