Would you be honest? Reference

Lilacs4Me

DIS Veteran
I am a Exec VP and coach of a youth sports league where we use high school kids as Jr./demo coaches to the kids. This is a volunteer position that requires about 10 hours a week dedication for a minimum of 3 1/2 months. We have our share of kids who are "all in" and dedicated, and sometimes a few duds....kids who thought it sounded fun but didnt realize the time commitment, etc.

One of my "duds" emailed me the other day asking if i would be a reference for her - she is headed to college this fall and is hoping to work in the child care center on her campus. She's a sweet girl, but really! She honestly was terrible as a Jr. Coach.

She didn't show up to most of the practices, never came to the games esp if they were away games, and didn't show up for the end of year party or help with anything else during the season. She basically threw together a plan the week before the biggest team competition of the season and made it to a Saturday practice that we scheduled based on her promise that she would be there.

Her communication with her adult coach sucked (not that *that* was totally her fault, by any means!), she refused to take her own team because she wanted to jr coach with her BFF, even though we asked them, as the seniors, to each take the lead role of separate teams, and it took until the last possible minute and me threatening her she wouldn't be registered with the league to finally get her paperwork.

My 3 Sophomore coaches were amazing, each leading a team when this girl refused. They were there whenever we needed them, and went above and beyond for the girls on their team. I wrote a very complimentary, glowing reference for one of those girls for a job this past winter. So I'm not opposed to helping and singing their praises!