Would you? Solo parent with toddler trip...

Becca1007

DIS Veteran
So Southwest had a huge fare sale yesterday and I picked up cheap ($44 each way) tickets into SNA. However, my significant other can't go because of a work conference. So that would leave me heading to DL solo with a 4 year old.

Would you think it is worth is considering we would be buying 2 day tickets and the toddler is only 36 inches tall (so lots of rides that he can't yet get on). No opportunity for rider switch or for me to go on the big rides since there won't be another adult to watch him.

I'm so torn since I hear crowds are light and we haven't been since toddler turned 3 (and we had to start paying for him, lol)...

Well I live locally and I have an annual pass but I’ve been visiting the parks with my 4-year-old son since he was 2 years old. My husband isn’t as Disney crazed as me, so the majority of our visits have been just the two of us, although we often go with friends now. I actually prefer to go alone with him as we can do anything we want to without having to compromise with others’ desires. We basically just wander around doing whatever we feel like! It’s the best! There’s lot to do for the under 40 inchers, so many rides and shows and parades and the FOOD! Some of my most cherished memories are my son and I alone at Disneyland.

Now I have two sons. The little one is 6 months old and he has been visiting the parks with me since he was 4 weeks old. Sometimes the three of us go, sometimes it’s just me and the baby. So much fun either way! And I am making new special cherished memories with my expanded family.

I say go for it! Go at your son’s pace, make plenty of time for rest/naps and have an magical time!