10 year old Aspergers son issues at school

tiff1228

Earning My Ears
I am new to this thread. My 10 year old son has Aspergers ( finally got a definite diagnosis in December 2009) We recently got him a 504 plan similar to an IEP. Just wondering if any of you would like to share any of the exceptions you have for your kids at school. School is hard for him socially, he is so unorganized. Last year he would do many of the assingments and just not turn them in so would get a "0" until we would see the missing assignments on his progress reports. Then I would either email the teacher or tell him to look in his desk and turn them in. His teacher last year would except them lat. He is going into 5th and it is only going to get harder. The teachers feel like the kids need to be resposible and not have to remind them to turn in their work, however I don't know if I should hold my son to this and fight this issue. I want him to do the best as much as he can on his own, but I am always willing to fight for him when I should. Any advice or comments are appreciated.:lovestruc

OMG, this could be my son too! DS 19 was just diagnosed last year, and let me tell you, that diagnosis provided more understanding from the teachers.

Here are the requests I made for my son:

Sit near the front, but to the side to keep the anxiety level down.

He needs CONCISE instructions! Our son has executive function issues, it is difficult for him to organize. I let the teachers know that if he didn't turn in an assignment, it wasn't because he was lazy, he didn't understand the assignment.

Due to the Asperger's he is very quiet and reserved. He may not approach the teacher until he feels comfortable. We kept an open line of communication with the teachers on any questions or concerns. Teachers have to understand that these kids see things as black or white - no gray area. Unless the teachers ask for the homework, the kids won't turn it in. Sometimes the obvious goes right over their heads.