Any advice on staying awake for the drive?

momofmikey

Mommy also to Daniel and Lauren
We're leaving Saturday night from NY for WDW. Our plan is to leave at around 8 pm so my 1 yo son can sleep. We're planning on driving throught the night to get in a good 10 hours or so before he wakes up. I've never done this before though and am so worried about falling asleep at the wheel or something. I was planning on staying up really late Friday night, getting up really early Saturday morning, and taking a long nap that afternoon before the trip to refresh me. I've heard of this backfiring though. Any experiences? Or will I just be so excited I could stay up?

Thanks!

Oh sorry - meant to post this on a different board. Can a moderator move it to a board they think I'll get good response? Thanks.

I'd try a day or two before to get yourself on a late night schedule.

But if you get tired - you're going to have to stop. It's really dangerous to keep driving while you're tired.

Books on tape from the library are what works for us! We get one or two LONG unabridged books for our 12 hour trip. It seems to make the time fly. Also - a good way to catch up on your reading - and it's free too!

I'll be picking up my books on tape tomorrow morning for our trip down on Friday!

Coffee...lots of coffee! :D
We drove straight through (from MA) from 3:20 PM until 3:00PM the next day. DH did most of the driving stopping to get a cup of coffee ever couple hours through the night. Then around 5:00am, I took over driving(not that I had slept that much either). DH got a quick cat nap, just to recharge, then he went back to driving after breakfast. If you have someone who you can switch off with, that would really help. If not, I would suggest trying to take a nap before leaving. Good Luck!