Aulani DVC rental question

Aloha-ha

Earning My Ears
Hello, I'm a DVC newbie, not a an owner (yet!). I've been looking into trying to rent a DVC for a specific date at the Aulani this summer. They are all booked at this point for the dates I need. Does anyone know if I keep watching the rent/trade boards there might be a chance that a rental for the dates I need will come up or is it once they're booked that's it? I don't want to waste my time looking for the next 6 months if my chance is gone. Any insight is welcome, thanks!

I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this question.

A lot depends on the dates (weekend vs weekday vs holiday weekend) and what type of room. At this point its unlikely that studios would be available for dates that include a weekend, and the cheaper 1bdr rooms are likely to only have weekdays as well.

Generally 2bdr rooms and up aren’t difficult to get at this point unless you need a lot of consecutive days...but they do cost a lot more.

That’s what I was counting on but they’re all out right now for my dates.

That’s why I was wondering if owner’s sometimes post specific dates on here if they have to cancel.

the existence of the wait list makes checking the forums for possible cancellations mostly a moot point. Probably easier to just check the rental sites, or if theres a specific person you’re renting points from, maybe ask them to waitlist a room for you.

If you were a dvc member you could waitlist a room for the dates you want, and assuming no one is ahead of you in the queue you get first crack at it (pretty sure theres also a time limit on how long you have to accept it before they release it to the next person in line or for anyone to book)

I don’t believe any of the rental sites have a waitlist option, but it is possible.