Canadian Dollar - Crystal Ball?

Jo-Anne

DIS Veteran
Ok, I know I should have cashed in all my loose change a month ago when dollar was 65-66 cents, but of course, we were assured that the dollar was steadily climbing!! For those who know more about the economy than I, or those who have a great crystal ball, what do you think the dollar will be doing by early Sept? We'll be leaving on Sept 8, so I need to cash in our change for spending money prior to that....do I hold out until Sept 7? Thoughts and predictions appreciated!

I would check when ever your at the bank. Be prepaired to drive home and get your change to run back and get your good rate. We have a US account and just put money in whenever we have extra dollars!
Twinz

Given the volatility in the money markets these days, I would not expect any large upward movement in the exchange rate for the next little while. In fact, I think it's more likely there will be more downs than ups. (Keep in mind I'm not a professional. :confused: )

We do the same as twinz, converting Cdn$100 to US$ on a regular basis (i.e. monthly). It's kinda the exchange equivalent of dollar cost averaging.

- Mike

Good post! We have spending money, but I've been holding off buying my hopper passes hoping that our dollar would improve. I've been checking the rates on http://www.xe.com/ucc For sure, we should have bought a month ago. I'll probably buy this week or next. Our trip is in October but we won't wait that long! Happy trails to all.
Terrise

Terise - have you looked into buying the hopper passes at the Canadian Disney Stores? They have the 5&7 day ones. You pay in Canadian dollars and it's based on a fixed exchange rate and, I think, you save the 6% tax. It's worth calling the Disney Store to ask about their prices compared to wherever else you are looking.

Hi Jo-Anne,