Caring for an autistic child

Alyssa88

<font color=green>I love it! Bad football team, go
Hello everyone,
I have not posted on this board before but I have a few questions. On Monday I will be starting this really great job. I will be picking up a ten year old autistic boy from his home and he and I will be hanging out with a group of disabled individuals and their personal day camp care takers. I have worked with autistic children before in a hospital and laboratory setting (I was an intern at a cognitive- developmental research lab where we mostly studied language) but, this will be my first time driving and taking an individual out into the community. I have never been responsible for caring for a child for such a long time. I am nervous as to whether or not I am ready for this. The drive will be pretty long and I am not sure of what to do if he starts throwing a tantrum while I am driving (I remember some children I worked with were very likely to throw tantrums), especially if I am on the highway. He will be in the backseat because of his age. This child is verbal and seems to be pretty high functioning (from his case sheet) plus when I am out with the group we are all supposed to help eachother. I am just a bit scared of when I am alone and on the road. Does anyone have any advice as to how I may calm him down if this should occur?

Also, I understand the symptoms of autism pretty well, and I know not to take them personally (the emotional distance, etc.), but I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to better relate to the child? I plan to speak with his main care taker to get more information, but I just wanted to know how you guys felt.