Curious about value of points of expensive home resorts

NorCalDisFan

Earning My Ears
I would have this curiosity because I'm a newbie. Actually, I'm not even a newbie. I would call myself a pre-owner.
I live in NorCal and love Disney parks more than my young kids do.
I have interest in VGC as well as the upcoming Disneyland Tower because of geographical reasons, so I've been reading and researching DVC for a couple of months.

As all you know, VGC is most expensive. I wonder why? Due to the premium to book the high demanding resort in 11 months advanced? It seems like that. Right?
At first, I thought when renting out or exchanging the points, the market value would be higher, but it doesn't look like that. When I wanted to rent from David's, the price was the same even though I couldn't make it. Anyways, I would try to buy points of VGC or the new one this year or next year. Just out of curiosity. Thanks for any comments.

I think VGC is so high because of the 11 month priority and the small number of rooms. However, some rental companies vary in what they charge by resort. I don’t know which ones off the top of my head as we don’t ever have points left to rent :rolleyes1

If you buy VGC, are you planning to buy resale? If so, I assume you would not be able to book at DLT with those points. It is my understanding that DLT will require qualified points for non-DLT owners but I could be wrong as I haven’t been following DLT very closely.

It’s a small resort and the only one out that way so it’s very popular. Those that own points there use them there. So it’s hard to get into if you don’t own there.

Thanks for the comments. I'm just waiting until DLT is released. After that, I will buy either one hopefully. As far as know buying VGC from Direct is almost impossible (too long waitlist for now). So I don't consider that option.