DCL/ABD Med Cruise Question

airbear

Earning My Ears
I recently checked out the Disney Cruise web site specifically the Med. cruises with the ABD add-ons. Out of curiousity why is the category 12 cabins so much cheaper then the next category up? This is a great deal for a 10 or 11 night cruise. I was just wondering if this price is to encourage ABD bookings or is that the price those cabins always are?

I recently checked out the Disney Cruise web site specifically the Med. cruises with the ABD add-ons. Out of curiousity why is the category 12 cabins so much cheaper then the next category up? This is a great deal for a 10 or 11 night cruise. I was just wondering if this price is to encourage ABD bookings or is that the price those cabins always are?

The Cat 12s are always cheaper. DCL had the cheap May Med cruises before they annnounced the ABD add on. With Cat 12 you can't choose your stateroom. Depending on the bookings you may be upgraded. I'm not a cruise expert so some of our more experienced cruisers can give you more info. I booked at Cat 12 last Dec for the Bahamas cruise and was upgraded to a Cat 9.

when dcl has a hard time booking they will offer the cat 12 gty at a very good price. it has nothing to do with the abd. with the economy and air prices and being school time they had to discount bigtime. the 14 night repo is going for 699 in a cat 12 gty.

Oh I did not know any of this. I am not an experienced cruiser at all. I have one Carnival cruise under my belt and that was several years ago. I wish I could go on the Med. cruise in May as the price is very affordable. I did get the free cruise promo. with my July booking so that'll be fun.