Disney gives gay couples 'Fairy Tale Weddings'

Thanks Viki and all of you!!! You guys have cleared up SOOO much for me!!! Can I ask another question...kinda unrelated (maybe you guys know a better place to post it...I'm new to DIS Discussions). 1. Did you guys have a childhood connection to Disney? If so, what was it? 2. Do you think of Disney as "just for kids?" If so, why pick a "juvenille" place to have your wedding, which is a sort of stepping into adulthood? Thanksss!!!

I wouldn't say it was an overtly strong connection in childhood. I certainly fell in love with Disney the first trip my family took there in 1996 (when i was 15). And of course I watched all the Disney classics when I was young (and in what should have been my first 'gay clue', sang the songs with my sister).

I think the parks have more to offer adults than children. I don't discount the wonder and magic you see in the eyes of kids down there. But as an adult you appreciate the effort that went into things, and the special touches, and are privy to a sense of nostalgia. Aspects - specifically the Magic Kingdom - are more geared towards kids than areas such as the World Showcase. But I think adults take more away from attractions such as the Great Movie Ride and Spaceship Earth. Things we can relate to more as we grow older. All part of the beauty to me - something for all ages. When I'm a senior citizen, I hope I can still go there and enjoy more sedate attractions, filled with reminders of way back in 2006 when that Lilo and Stitch movie came out.

But I do feel much more youthful and care free when I'm there. :rotfl:

skymedik - i totally understand u!
and ur little signature thing about walt disney world - sooo true :)

Wow :woohoo: someone gets me! That's freakin' awesome! :rotfl:

Where did you work as a CM? And what is TO?