Driving from Mississauga and booking hotels on the way?

SandraC

Longs for the feeling of sandy salt water in her k
Hi all! It's pretty much a done deal that the next trip will be a driving trip. I've looked at hotels in Wytheville, Va and Charlotte, NC. I would like to pre-book hotels, but what if it snows and we don't make it to our hotel? What if we want to drive farther? How can you tell I'm new at this LOL! THANKS! S

I don't recommend booking hotels, we have driven many, many times and only had a problem once on our last trip which was in the summer late on a friday night. If you don't pre book you can pick up the state coupon books and save quite alot on hotel rates. What we have done in the past is call around dinner time and make sure the hotel is not sold out. by then we have a pretty good idea how much father we want to drive and the hotel will know what it's occupancy rates are and lots of times they will let you hold a room even if you tell them you have a coupon.

allison

We pre-booked our stays for our trip in July. As Allison said, we couldn't find a place to stay last year on a Friday night & it was terrible so we didn't want to take a chance this year. We stayed at Hampton Inns & they have a 6 pm - same day cancellation policy. So if we knew by 6 pm that we weren't going to stop there, we called the 1-800 HAMPTON # & cancelled. We did that on the way down. We had Orangeburg, SC booked for our second night & as we got closer we realized we would be there too early & decided to drive right thru to Daytona Beach. So I cancelled the Hampton & booked the Hilton (joined Hilton Honors before our trip which includes Hilton & Hampton Inns).

The Hilton is a great hotel to stay at Sandra if you're still planning to stay a night in Daytona. We got a rate of $99 US & it included a breakfast credit of $11/each for the next day (so room was only $55....great price). Great pool & beach location. Rooms were great & huge (including a fridge & microwave).