For those who did the Stoneycreek cross stitch (and other large designs)

MushyMushy

Marseeya Here!
What did you use to hoop such a large cloth? I'm eagerly awaiting my kit in the mail, and I was wondering what you used as a hoop.

I have used an 8" plastic hoop for all my kits( have done 8 upto now). With some of the kits there is a big excess of cloth but i just roll it up. Works for me.

I have used an 8" plastic hoop for all my kits( have done 8 upto now). With some of the kits there is a big excess of cloth but i just roll it up. Works for me.

That sounds simple! I've never done such a large piece before, so I wasn't sure. So, you didn't have a problem with the excess cloth getting all sloppy and frayed?

No. It's still needed ironing afterwards but it was no different from any other pieces i have done. Which one have you ordered? They are all quite detailed patterns but well worth the effort. Happy stitching.

I don't use a hoop....I use the q-snaps for my projects. I find they are better than hoops. They keep your fabric tighter and don't leave marks like the hoops do. You can get them at Hobby Lobby or any online needlework stores.

:goodvibes

I too have used the Q-Snaps & love using them. You can get them in many different sizes & they are great!

i dont use anything....i find it easier to stitch without in a sewing motion. i find it faster as well. no need keep moving your hand above and under the fabric. anyone else not use anything...is this uncommon?

i dont use anything....i find it easier to stitch without in a sewing motion. i find it faster as well. no need keep moving your hand above and under the fabric. anyone else not use anything...is this uncommon?

I don't use a hoop for small designs but do find it easier to keep the aida tighter on the larger ones.