How did you decide on your career?

My mother decided my career choice, which did not allow me to pursue my passion. I was good at what I did, but never enjoyed it.

I didn’t want to go to college because I didn’t have a specific career in mind. Mom said I had to take business and accounting courses in high school or go to college, so I took the business courses and never looked back.

What was/is your passion?
From the time I was a little girl, I wanted to be a veterinarian. When the time came to plan for college, my mother told me there was no money for college, women did not do that job, and I was not smart enough. She was a big fan of Perry Mason and told me I should be a legal secretary. She found an advertisement in the paper for a legal secretary trainee and told me to apply. I got the job and the rest is history.

I had no idea what I wanted to do when I graduated college with a degree in English. I majored in English/Writing because I loved it and was good at it.

I thought perhaps I'd go to law school, so I got a job as a paralegal and did that for six years. Towards the end of that job I realized that I loved hearing my friend talk about her job as a high school English teacher, and I thought "Why don't I do that?"

I worked all day and went to school at night for my master's in education and my certification to teach secondary English. I taught for six years before our DD20 came into our lives. I left teaching then and never went back.

Teaching is so different now than it was in the 90's/early 2000's. I'm not sure I would do it again now.

Discovered it my first semester Freshman year of College and changed my career path.

My DW was a VP of Finance at a mortgage company and was on the last leg in getting her Master's in business when she took a Psychology course and that changed everything. She ended up changing her path and went on to get her doctorate in Psychology.