How do you "work"

Mrs.Charming

Mouseketeer
For the completed page swap I am in three different groups. Two I am working on and one I have supplies but haven't started yet. Since this is my first time doing something like this I am wondering if the way I am working is the best way. I have been making one full 2 pg. layout (to make sure the idea in my head works) then I am going back and making all the elements for the other 4 sets and assembling them like an assembly line.

How do y'all work?

I am not in the page swap, but that is basically how I work as well. I do one complete swap piece first. I call it my "experiment". Adjust anything I do not like and then I begin to assemble one piece x # in group. That way I am not going back 6 times for the same thing.

With my swaps I work out what I am going to do, maybe roughly (and I do mean roughly!) sketching the shapes/elements and noting what colours/papers I might use. If there's something I need to print, i do that next (or cut any shapes/letter I need) then cut the cardstock/paper and put each set of pieces in a bag, in a larger bag for each group - so i'll have a bag of journal box pieces, a bag of photo mat pieces etc.) Sometimes I have no idea how I am going to embellish, sometimes I know from the start, so i will add any ribbons, brads etc to the bigger bag. Then when I have time I'll work on a set of elements at a time. I don't make up a rough, but I will stick the first one together before completing any other stages on individual layers so i know they work. As each group is complete I bag them up ready, so once I've done the last group its just packing and posting.