I Just Wanted To Be Athletic - And Now, I Am! (comments welcome)

corinnak

100% Tag Free!
I have a fear of starting something publicly and failing to follow through. Therefore, of course, I am not starting this at the beginning of my journey. I feel like at the beginning, I kind of have to tiptoe around myself so I don't scare myself off with too much enthusiasm or something. I am sounding a little jumpy and I'm not even through the first paragraph! Let me start with where I am right now. Where I've been may or may not be ultimately important.

Right now, I am a recent graduate of the Couch to 5K program. Since February (maybe March - talk about inauspicious beginnings - I don't even remember!) I have gone from being largely sedentary to being able to run 3.1 miles. I have lost almost 20 pounds - I seem to be at a plateau but I am so close to that 20 that I can almost taste it. I've been doing Weight Watchers online since the beginning of April when I decided that running would be easier if I weren't carrying around weight equivalent to that of my 2nd grader with me at all times. I have also been incorporating ideas from the Beck Diet Solution, but as Dr. Beck would say, I have some sabotaging thoughts about some of it.

Currently, I am at loose ends a bit. I ran my first 5K on May 13th and it was great, but I took a little time to rest and am now trying to decide what I should be doing next. Now that the C25K program is finished. I am trying things. Group cycling, weights, different running workouts including podfitness.com.

Events motivate me. I have another 3 mile fun run that I want to do on the 4th of July, I would like to run the Tower of Terror 13K and have booked a room but haven't registered. :scared1: And my big, long-term goal has been that I would like to run the Disney half marathon. Right now it is looking like 2009.