• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Keeping Disney Trip a Surprise!!

We just returned from a surprise trip for our 3 DD's. Now that I've done it here are my thoughts:

--The surprise was great - they were extremely excited.

--The trip planning was not as much fun for me without the excitement of the kids. We sings songs about it & have a daily countdown usually.

--Until about the 2nd or 3rd full day they said they didn't really feel like they were in Disney because they hadn't geared themselves up for it.

IMHO it was great to do but I would probably tell them much sooner next time. 1/2 the fun is the preparation, planning & running around the house singing our special songs.

We have done a Xmas surprise & then gone a few months later, which was much better.

This is my first time posting so please forgive me if I make a mistake.
We did surprise our 2 DDs last February (we do go to WDW twice a year) we told them that we were going to Atlanta for their dad to attend a conference. We drove from Upstate NY and they never suspected anything, we drove through the WDW gates, they did not seem them, finally when we drove by the swan and Dolphin my oldest one who was nearly 7 at the time, started screaming it is the fish hotel, and kept asking are we in Disney, the little one was screaming yeah we are at Disney world....
It really was great, so great in fact that we are doing it again this coming February.... Just a different scenario

We surprised our kids last Christmas.

I bought WDW '01 tshirts on ebay. I made copies of our flight itinerary and put it in the shirt. I wrapped them and we told them there was one gift we wanted them to open early. Of course we filmed it.