New to ABD

airbear

Earning My Ears
Hi this is my first time posting here. My first ABD will be this July. We are doing Southwest Splendors. I read Say Hello's trip report and it looks like a blast. I am getting nervous about the heat and altitude. Has anyone done this trip in July? If so, what was the weather like? (I have never been to the desert) :cutie:

Hi Airbear--
Welcome to the DIS Boards. Sorry no one has answered you yet!

We did the Southwest Splendors ABD in August and had a fantastic time. Yes, it was incredibly hot, but its a dry heat. . . LOL :rotfl2:
Seriously, although it was very hot, the guides had plenty of water on board and they also carried extras in their backpacks in case someone ran out on the trail. We all were given cooling mist sprays and "cool-danas"--a bandana with a cooling gel in it to wear around your neck or your head. And the swimming pool at the end of the day was a huge hit! Just make sure to bring some extra t-shirts to change into. There is a coin operated laundry at Red Cliffs Lodge, and many of us did a load or 2 of sweaty clothes when we got there.

You will have a fantastic time!

Turtlemom

Thanks Turtlemom, I was pretty bummed out when nobody responded to me. You have made my day. I will be sure to pack extra t-shirts for my husband and myself. This will be our 1 year anniversary trip so we are both really excited.:banana:

We're a small group and normally not all that active, although we do have our moments. Keep you questions coming! If anybody knows the answer, you will eventually get a response.

Airbear! So sorry we all seemed to somehow miss your post! Next time that happens (what? It will *NEVER* happen again! :thumbsup2) just post again with "bump" as your post. It will bump it back to the top of the list, and then we'll see that we missed it. Yay for Turtlemom for spotting your post!