New to FW - Advise??

bicyclemark

Dreaming
Greetings -

My family (Me, DW, DD9, and DS7) and I will be staying at Fort Wilderness the last week of January. We have a pop up which I will be towing from Minnesota. This will be a new experiance for us as we have never had water or electrical hookups.

Which sites/loops do you reccomend for a pop up?

Should I set up the screen room or will the awning be enough?

Using WDW transportation, about how long does it take to get to each of the theme parks?

We will have breakfast every morning at our site. Is it worthwhile returning at least once per day for another meal?

Any other suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for all your help:D

Oh, you are going to have such fun!

Now, I won't even say anything about someone brave enough to drive from Minnesota in January--Heck, I'm a Tennessee teacher and we've gotten out of school before just because they predicted snow! But once you get there, loop 1500 is a nice close loop with partial hook-ups--ie no sewer or cable.

Can't help you about the screen room--another pop-uper will help you on this, I bet!

Using WDW transportation-(all of these are my most recent experiences), going to MK--about 30 minutes, MGM, Epcot, AK, Downtown Disney--about 45 minutes. Now remember--if you are lucky and a bus is waiting the time will be shorter and if you see the bus pulling out when you get to the busstop the time will be longer. Heck, it's vacation--enjoy the wait!

If the park hours are shorter you may want to stay longer. If the hours are longer you may want a break. Just play that by ear. It would definately save you money. We usually do take a midday break because we go more for FW than the parks. Make sure you take enough time to enjoy all that FW has to offer!

Have fun planning!!

Welcome to the DIS!! :Pinkbounc

I am from Minnesota too and we tow our popup down too.