Newbie Trip - 2 parks - 1 day, where to start?

ashleymrush

DIS Veteran
Hey! I will be going with my family to Universal next Wednesday (4/7) for their first time and my first time in six years. I've been looking around but can't seem to find an answer to this question. Which park is the best to go to first? The parks are both open from 8am to 10pm. We are early risers and plan to rope drop and then stay as long as we can, though we likely won't make it to close. Our boys are 11 and 8 and love most thrill rides and Harry Potter. We are interested in most everything except for water rides and the shows. We will not have any express passes or early entry. We are familiar with virtual lines and will utilize them for sure. If anyone has any touring tips on where to start, which rides to start with, etc. I would love some advice. I'm a Disney vet and can manage my days there with my eyes closed but this will be a whole new adventure for us. Thank you so much!