Please join me in a HAPPY Dance -Updated 4/27/07

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope it works out well for everyone.

Bet your daughter is excited!

:cool1: :banana: :woohoo:

ETA- just checked it out and it looks like a great device with a ton of potential for your daughter! Keep me updated with how it goes.

Congratulations! I hope your DD soon finds her "voice"! I'm a speech therapist! I want one for me! I know how difficult it is to get these devices. Good luck and have fun!

Thanks everyone.
What follows might be more than you want to know (if so, just skip it and take the thanks).

She had a different communication device (Dynavox) for the last 10 years, but it's obsolete, broken and was very cumbersome to use. It was arranged around folders of similar items/ideas (like food) that had to be programmed with things she might want to say. Not a lot of opportunity for her to come up with with what she wanted to say.
The new device (Vantage) is arranged around what is called Core vocabulary - if you have quick access to the 100 most frequently used words, you can come up with a lot.
We had a Vantage device for a trial during a WDW trip in October. She didn't use the device that much, but some of the things she said surprized me. For example, we had to switch resorts in the middle of our stay. As she watched us packing up, she came up by herself with "Think vacation" and added the sign for "all finished". (The speech therapist had shown her how to find "vacation" before we left, but she had not used it by herself before). I cried when we had to give the device back after the trial because, with it, she was able to actually express what she wanted to say instead of what someone thought she might want to say.
We are very excited to get her own!