Prayers for my dad

AshleyMWC

DIS Veteran
Hello everyone- this is my first time posting on this board, but I have truly been inspired and touched by the postings I have read so far. So, now I come asking for prayers for my father...and our whole family. I guess a little background is in order...

I am 26 years old, and an only child. My parents are divorced. My mom is my absolute best friend in the whole world. My dad was diagnosed with dementia about 3 years ago..he was 56 at the time. No doctor is willing to make a "firm diagnosis" as to what type of dmenetia, but we are pretty sure it stemmed from a severe case of sleep apea. My father was as hard headed as it comes, and he refused to wear a mask at night to treat his sleep apnea. He most likely would have had dementia as he aged the doctors tell us, but this may well have fast tracked it 15 or 20 years! :sad2: Anyway, my dad is now in a nursing home, and he is nothing of the person I once knew. I was a total daddy's girl growing up- he was my biggest fan in everything that I did. He is getting pretty bad now, and today I just received a call that he hit another resident :eek: I know that happens with the disease, but it's never a fun phone call to get. He talkes very little, and stares into space a lot....a far cry from the highly successful Commercial Lender he once was. I find myself having a harder and harder time going to see him, even though I know that is awful of me- but I also know that he would never have wanted me to have to see him like this.

Sorry this has turned into a longer posting than I had planned, but thanks to anyone who has read it and can spare a few prayers. My mom is currently on a cruise (which she totally deserves, btw), so I feel kind of lost not having her to talk to. Sure, I have friends I can call, but I know they have no idea what to do or say. So, I have come to my friends on the Disboards. :love:

Thanks again for listening to me!! :hug: