Question for those who are teachers...

WebmasterBarry

DIS Veteran
After getting a D on a Java programming test, I was seriously considering getting a teacher's certification. I have a BA in English and it seems like I just want to write. I seem to be good with kids (ask Robinrs or Cindy B) and I can have summers off to ride roller coasters! At the very least, I can get a part-time job at traffic school. :) I probably won't be rich, but I think I need something rewarding. Maybe I'm overreacting, but how is life like as a teacher?

Barry are you crazy? Ok, got that out of my system. I have been teaching for 15 years, and to be honest, I do not reccommend it to anyone. All the troubles with education, and money, it is just not worth it. It is very difficult to see the fruits of your labor anymore, and the success stories are not like they used to be.

I do not want to discourage you, but I am letting you know it is not about vacations, and time off. Now a days you have to continue to go to school for ever, to update your certification. There is teacher testing. You are held responsible for a child to succeed when there is no help from the home...you are nurse, psychologist, parent, teacher, friend...etc. Contrary to popular belief it is not a part time job :mad: :p It can be rewarding, but it can be frustrating and depressing too.

I wish you luck, but please think on this.

I agree with Glo.

I know so many people who think teachers teach so that they can have the summers off. They say that many people become teachers because they couldn't make it in their major.

Teaching is not any easy thing. You will have students from all walks of live. You will encounter parents that respect you and those that don't give a **** about you or what you are trying do.

You may get a small group of students that are all on grade level, and eager to learn. You may have 25-30 (or more) students ; without and aide; who are all on different levels.