Sars

toulousaine

Earning My Ears
We are going to DW one month from today! (yayyyyy!)

However.......:confused:

I took my 10 month old to his well-baby visit today, and I brought of the issue of SARS, because my doctor is VERY level-headed, never jumps on the bandwagon of issues. But, he said he was a little concerned, not so much at DW, but on the airlplane (7 hr ride for us). He said that if it got much worse, like more spreading thru the states, then maybe we should postpone.

He said if it stays like it is now, just sporadic cases, then go and have fun, just wash hands like crazy (which we do anyway.)

SO....:(

Sorry, my son disconnected the plug from the keyboard..

Anyhow, my concern is for my family. I mean, chances are we wouldn't get it, but it could happen! It's happened to 3000 people so far!

What would YOU do??????

Toulousaine,

I am a Firefighter and EMT who happens to work on an ambulance service. We, too, are taking precautions, but they are the same we take every day for every patient. While SARS is a worry, as long as precautions are taken there should be no worries. (Washing often, staying away from people with symptoms of flu, ETC.) I would agree with your doctor's recommendation but I believe they are gonna crack this thing soon and a cure/vaccine will be found. IMHO if someone is gonna get it, they'll get it wherever they are; not just from riding 7 hrs. on an airplane. Don't let this ruin your vacation. I leave in 2 weeks with my DW and twin DDs. Just stay alert and check the CDC website if you have any questions about signs and symptoms of SARS.

Mike

Have a great trip:)

toulousaine- My Dh works on the inside and outside of planes all day, international flights, and thus far no one working on planes has gotten the virus. They clean the planes up after each flight. If you get on the flight and are near someone coughing asked to be moved or unboard the plane.
Take all the precautions you can but don't stop living your life.