The Trip We Waited Four Years to Take! - August 2014

kbmartin

DIS Veteran
Hey y'all! :wave2:

I've been looking forward to the time I could post my very first trip report on the DIS! We just got home last night from our 9-day stay at Port Orleans Riverside at Disney World. I can't wait to share it all with all of you who really understand!

First, here is a little background.

My DH and I met four years ago and got married in August 2013. Since we met, we have been desperate to go to Disney World together! I have been to Disney World many times, but my DH has only visited twice - and only to Magic Kingdom and Universal. So, this was a trip in which I was able to share everything with a newbie. We both love Disney movies (our favorite is Up) and everything about going on a vacation to Florida. We're in our late 20s, no children.

We were not able to go anytime earlier for a number of reasons. I am a teacher with limited times to visit (summer and major holidays - naturally, when the parks are crowded and expensive). I was in grad school online for two years during our relationship, which would have made a trip difficult. My DH went through a few jobs in the past four years and just didn't have the vacation time. And of course, we didn't really have the money to go anytime sooner. We decided on our vacation dates (August 15th-23rd) about a year ago when we realized that this could finally become a reality! This was our honeymoon AND first anniversary trip.

I booked our trip in April and did research over Spring Break and all summer. My ADRs changed a few times, as well as our day-to-day plans. Of course, our plans changed quite a lot while we were actually on our trip, too.

I will post about our first couple of days very soon!

Bye y'all! :wave2:

GREAT for you! :thumbsup2

HOPE that your Honeymoon was AWESOME!!!:cheer2:

Looking forward to hearing about your experiences!:)

Here's a first trip report for everybody! It's a long post - read it if you dare!