Thyroid Questions

fb309

Earning My Ears
I have been on Synthroid for 10 years. The first 9 years I was on 75 mcg with no problems. Last year, anxiety got the best of me and it turned out I was getting too much and my dosage was lowered to 50 mcg. Now, I am feeling the anxiety/palpitations starting again. My tsh a month ago was already down to 0.77, so I know it is dropping again. Is this change from being hypo to hyper normal? Thanks for your help. I'm going to go and try to relax.

Well although I cant say what exactly is the problem in your case I would like to say my father has been taking this medication for more than 30 years now. He got his thyroid removed and I never recollect him having such problems. However if you are aware the medication during administration period requires some adjustments to be made on the dietary regimen, hope you did that else it may interfere with the healing process.

I am not an expert and if my daughter was not so busy at work I would try to get some answers out of her...I do know that I have heard her talk about having palpitations when her levels are too high, I also know that when her levels are too low, she gets leg cramps....

I think I would call my doctor and get some answers. Getting the dosage right can be tricky and it is how you feel that counts so give them a call and tell them what is going on..

Hopefully others will respond here as well. Take care and let us know how you do.

I no longer have my thyroid gland so I do not get the problems you are experiencing.

However, for people who still have a gland, and especially if you have Hashimoto's thyroiditis, this can be a real problem.

Your gland is deciding some days it is going to work (and work hard) and some days it's not gonna work at all! In the meantime, you are taking synthetic thyroid hormone. When your gland decides to work, you will become hyper. For some reason, you gland is going back to work. This is really tough to deal with.