What Is A Gac?

shelle45

Earning My Ears
HI I AM NEW TO THIS.

WHAT IS A GAC? MY SON WILL BE 15 WHEN WE GO TO WDW, FLORIDA. HE HAS DOWNS SYNDROME AND IS AUTISTIC. WE WILL REQUIRE A NONE MOTORISED WHEELCHAIR FOR HIM WHILST WE ARE IN FLORIDA. DO YOU KNOW WHERE WE CAN RENT ONE OFF SITE SO THAT WE CAN USE IT ALL THE TIME AND NOT JUST AT THE PARKS? WILL MY SON BE ABLE TO GO ON THE RIDES WHITHOUT WAITING IN THE QUEUE? AS HE TENDS TO HAVE EXTREME OUTBURST IF REQUIRED TO WAIT FOR ANYTHING FOR A PROLONGED PERIOD.

MANY THANKS

SHELLE:wave:

Welcome to disABILITIES, shelle45.:wave:
WHAT IS A GAC CARD?
GAC is a Guest Assistance Card (at Disneyland, they call it a Special Assistance Card). We use the abbreviation GAC so we don't need to type out all the words each time we want to talk about it.
What it is, is a way to let the CMs (Cast Members) know what sorts of help someone needs if they have an invisible disability. It's issued for the person with a disability and up to 5 memebers of their party. In some situations, there may not be room for 6 people, so you may be asked to have one or two people stay with the person the GAC is issued to and the rest wait/enjoy the show somewhere else. The GAC is stamped with a message that helps the CM decide what you need. Some examples might be, to allow someone who has a small child to use a stroller like a wheelchair (taking a stroller in lines, buildings where wheelchairs are usually not allowed), or to be allowed to wait in a quieter place.
WILL MY SON BE ABLE TO GO ON THE RIDES WHITHOUT WAITING IN THE QUEUE?
The GAC does NOT allow immediate ride access. You will generally still be waiting, but the wait will be in a quieter place or somewhere that more meets your family's needs.