wheelchair at cast away Cay

karendillr

Earning My Ears
Hi,

This is my first time using this site. We have a 7 year old daughter who is severely disabled. We push her in a Convaid cruiser wheelchair/stroller. We are going to Disney World in May. We are doing the land/cruise package for our family and my husbands sisters family. (10 of us in all) I have a few questions.
1. How are the disabled kids treated at disney?
We will have to find a place to grind all of her food. I will take my mini food chopper. But, it is electic
2. When we are at Cast away Cay is there a wheelchair that we can use for the sand?
My email address is
Karendillr@hotmail.com
thank you so much
Karen

I just posted a note re special diets on DCL. My experience is limited to food allergies though. For dining at the parks, the sit down places are great about accommodating special diets, just let them know when you make your priority seating reservations. We have occassionally brought in food for me in an insulated lunch sack just to know what was in it -- although you are not supposed to bring in your own food, no one has ever said anything and it is for a medical purpose. Not condoning it, just relating our experience re coping with allergies. I bet you could use your chopper at First Aid, they are very nice. There are menus for all WDW resturants at http://allearsnet.com/din/dining.htm which might be helpful in your planning.

Yes, they do have sand wcs to use at Castway Cay. I will leave a more experienced person to post the list of links to the general info about touring with special needs. Welcome to this board!

:wave: Cupcake